A big sewing day…

25 Jun

Today I finished these bloomers for a custom order…. When Olivia shipped it, I turned my attention to a graduation present for a party we were attending today…

This was a fun project, although it took some home work.  Gifts for people you love seem to just go smoothly.    Sewing for customers is a heavy responsibility.  I am thankful for work.  But making gifts is definitely a delight! 🙂

Well, once the machine was hooked up and rolling, my 5 year old comes to me with a shirt he wants to wear to the parties.  It was filthy!  You know, a shirt he really likes!   Well I soaked it and it didn’t come clean.  So, plan B….  I had purchased some t-shirts with the intent to do some embroidery on them for summer shirts for the boys.  I also had a half  jelled plan of what I wanted to do on the shirts so, I went for it.   This shirt has an elephant scene that is in my machine, then I have a computer program that has quite a few different fonts and I wanted to add some text.  This particular text I had played with a few weeks ago in the program and so it was ready to go… A small problem arised, namely, I didn’t have the thread colors that the pattern suggested.  I improvised, My 11 year old daughter was my interpreter and every time the machine had a thread change which was more times than I care to count 🙂  my little interpreter reminded me of the color we were using instead.  The boys watched the machine draw the pattern.  It would have been a blast except we were getting late to go to the first party.

Finally finished,  here is the end product:

I like it a lot, but have already seen where I am going to make changes for the other boys, who of course, are waiting for theirs!  Believe it or not, I continued sewing and began one of our ladybug dresses for an order.  Just wanted to have a head start for Monday, since there is a lot of hand work and I promised the mom to ship it on Tuesday so it would get there for her daughter’s birthday.   I love to be prepared if I can be.

Well, it is Saturday night, time to get ready for our day of rest!  Yeah!

Work is good and profitable for mind, soul, and body.  But how I am thankful for rest.  And how sweet that rest is after the work is completed.

Just a side note, as I am writing this Olivia  is upstairs playing hymns on the piano, this is not something she gets to do often.  She is always working on something else,  a few of my children play, but all have different touches and techniques…Olivia, whose name means “peace” plays just that way…peace and rest flood my heart when she is playing.

Shalom!

Chrissi

One Response to “A big sewing day…”

  1. pathsofwrighteousness June 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Gotta love that new machine of yours. 🙂

Leave a comment