Fun, new quilting technique

10 Mar

Last fall I came upon a quilt on pintrest that caught my eye. I visited the link and it was a blog by a young woman named Jera Brandvig.  She has developed a fun technique called quilt as you go..I’m sure it is not original to her, but she has developed it well and describes it in her book, Quilt as you go/Made modern.

P1210274.JPG

I got a copy and made up some quilts..the backing isn’t my favorite technique but the front presents so beautifully and I did these quilts in 10 to 12 hours each..

The first quilt, I gave to a friend along with a table runner, and the second I incorporated a beautiful panel from a company that screen prints scripture verses. This quilt I gave to my adopted mother who is staying in a nursing home for rehabilitation.

813bc12a-532d-4ae7-9adf-5c1a057e493b

These were 9 inch blocks and quilted on the backing as described in Jera’s book.

This quilt was made with beautiful screen printed psalms, so encouraging!

b61913a0-358d-462d-9bfa-ca7fb2223811

P1200933

 

P1200934.JPG

This particular fabric collection is by a designer named, Brenda Riddle, her collection is called Windermere by Moda Fabrics..We carry many of these beautiful prints in our Etsy fabric shop …As I was saying about the backing, you basically, stitch in the ditch around the blocks that you have quilted on the front..This leaves the back a little droopy in my opinion.  But, if you have smaller blocks on the front this would be taken care of.  Unfortunately, I am usually speeding through quilts, and other projects because of my many duties..I am not able in this stage of my life to leisurely quilt, or enjoy the process..There will maybe come a time..

My husband and family come first. They deserve that. I am so thankful for them, and for the dear friends for whom these quilts were made.

So, I decided to offer this book in our Etsy Shop, Pomegranate Place, and let Jera do the teaching through her book..Just follow the link at the beginning of this post and Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

